Driving Rules for Teens
Under 18 years of Age
Temporary Permit Rules
• A temporary permit can be obtained at age 15. in Ohio. The permit is valid for one year.
• Pass knowledge and vision tests at a driver license exam station. A list of these locations can be found at www.bmv.ohio.gov.
• After you have successfully passed your vision and knowledge exams, you may obtain a receipt with a confirmation number to present at a deputy registrar agency to obtain your temporary instruction permit identification card within 60 days of passing your knowledge exam.
• When driving with a temporary permit, you must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor seated in the front passenger seat until you turn 16 years old. Then, you must drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older seated in the front passenger seat.
• Drivers must carry their temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC) with them while operating a vehicle.
• The number of vehicle occupants is limited to the total number of originally installed safety belts. All occupants must be wearing safety belts when the vehicle is being driven by a temporary permit holder.
• Permit holders under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving a motor vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent, guardian or legal custodian who holds a valid license.
(16-17 year olds)
• In order to be eligible for a probationary license, a temporary permit holder must complete the driver training requirements noted above.
• The driver must be at least 16 years old and must have held a temporary permit for at least six months.
• The driver must also successfully complete the Ohio driving and maneuverability tests prior to issuance of a probationary license.
• 16-year-old license holders are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, with the following exceptions: The license holder is driving to or from work (must have in immediate possession written documentation from the employer), to or from a school activity, or in an emergency situation.
• Licensed drivers who are 17 years old are restricted from driving between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, with the same exceptions as above.
• License holders who are 16 years old shall not operate a motor vehicle with more than one person who is not a family member occupying the vehicle unless accompanied by a parent, guardian or legal custodian.
• At the age of 17, the number of vehicle occupants is limited to the total number of originally installed safety belts. All occupants must be wearing safety belts when the vehicle is being driven by a probationary license holder.
• The probationary license is valid until age 18.
Ohio's Graduated Licensing Law
Ohio’s GDL law states that all temporary permit holders between the ages of 15. and 18 must receive a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training.
In addition, they must complete 50 hours of driving with a parent or legal guardian, including at least 10 hours of nighttime driving. Parents or guardians